All About Mia by Lisa Williamson

Image result for all about mia lisa williamson  Image result for all about mia lisa williamson

This book is SO relatable that it had me in tears at the end!

Here’s the description on GoodReads;

One family, three sisters.
GRACE, the oldest: straight-A student.
AUDREY, the youngest: future Olympic swimming champion.
And MIA, the mess in the middle.

Mia is wild and daring, great with hair and selfies, and the undisputed leader of her friends – not attributes appreciated by her parents or teachers.
When Grace makes a shock announcement, Mia hopes that her now-not-so-perfect sister will get into the trouble she deserves.
But instead, it is Mia whose life spirals out of control – boozing, boys and bad behaviour – and she starts to realise that her attempts to make it All About Mia might put at risk the very things she loves the most.

This book is about the middle child in a family filled with achievers, who feels very left out as she feels like she doesn’t have a ‘thing’ like her sisters do.

Already, how many people can relate to Mia?

I definitely do! But the only difference is that I’m the youngest, and I don’t go drinking and partying all the time, I just don’t feel as if I have a ‘thing’.

This book is so eye-opening towards the subject of favouritism in families, and I think as many people as possible should read it – EVEN PARENTS. YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!

Mia is a character that you feel sorry for, which I think she is written to be, but as you keep reading, you see how real this character truly is.

She goes through family troubles; friendship troubles; troubles with alcohol. She goes through a HELL OF A LOT in this novel, that there is never a boring chapter.

This book got me out of my reading slump, and I am SO grateful for it. In fact, I can see myself reading it again and again and again, and most likely crying over and over again from its relatable-ness.

Even though Mia goes through her family life feeling like the odd one out, she still doesn’t stumble on confidence. Many times in this book she talks about being curvy and LOVING IT!

One thing that is worrying about her though, is that she feeds off attention, because of the lack of from home, and usually goes for boy’s attention, which leads her into many sticky situation.

She wears revealing clothes not because she wants attention though, but because she KNOWS that she’ll flaunt it, and she knows that she looks ‘sexy‘. Her confidence in this book is amazing, and many times I had to put down the book and just cheer her on. She doesn’t give a sh*t what anyone thinks, which has its many downsides, but sometimes, for her body confidence, its a VERY good thing.

On my TOP FAVOURITE CHARACTERS list, Mia is definitely on it. She’s real, and I love how Lisa Williamson wrote her.

I loved the book so much, I tweeted about it, and was SO HAPPY when Lisa tweeted me back;

Lisa Williamson tweet.png

Lisa Williamson’s writing is relatable and gripping. She’s written another book called The Art of Being Normal which is on my bookshelf, and I will DEFINITELY be picking it up soon.

Rating: 5/5 

YES I WENT THERE!!

I recommend on SO MANY LEVELS!!

LINKS:

Lisa Williamson’s Twitter CLICK HERE!

Her GoodReads profile CLICK HERE!

The book’s GoodRead profile CLICK HERE!

 

WOULD RECOMMEND!

Image result for lisa williamson books

 

Leave a Reply

