‘The Circle’ by Dave Eggers

EVERYTHING WRITTEN IN THIS REVIEW IS MY OPINION. OTHERS MAY BELIEVE DIFFERENT. THIS IS MY OPINION.

Image result for the circle dave eggers tumblr  Image result for the circle dave eggers tumblr

This book holds technology so advanced that you read about it with a gaping mouth! It’s definitely an eye opener… definitely.

It’s a book very differently written to what I’m used to.

Here the description on GoodReads;

When Mae Holland is hired to work for the Circle, the world’s most powerful internet company, she feels she’s been given the opportunity of a lifetime. The Circle, run out of a sprawling California campus, links users’ personal emails, social media, banking, and purchasing with their universal operating system, resulting in one online identity and a new age of civility and transparency. As Mae tours the open-plan office spaces, the towering glass dining facilities, the cozy dorms for those who spend nights at work, she is thrilled with the company’s modernity and activity. There are parties that last through the night, there are famous musicians playing on the lawn, there are athletic activities and clubs and brunches, and even an aquarium of rare fish retrieved from the Marianas Trench by the CEO. Mae can’t believe her luck, her great fortune to work for the most influential company in America–even as life beyond the campus grows distant, even as a strange encounter with a colleague leaves her shaken, even as her role at the Circle becomes increasingly public. What begins as the captivating story of one woman’s ambition and idealism soon becomes a heart-racing novel of suspense, raising questions about memory, history, privacy, democracy, and the limits of human knowledge.

Sounds Interesting?

I went into this novel with high hopes.

I’ve had it on my shelf for three year – yes you heard correct – but I’ve just never came about to reading it.

When I heard that this novel was being turned into a film this year, starring one of my favourite actresses Emma Watson, I thought that NOW is the best time to pick up the novel and read it.

Image result for emma watson the circle

I will admit, it started off incredible and I really enjoyed it at first… at first.

The character Mae Holland starts off as an interested, sensible person but then grows into an ignorant person that aggravated me to read about. Through the last quarter of the novel I just wanted her to SEE what was going on and not be so STUPID!

I don’t like resulting to violence, but after finishing this book, seeing characters I LOVED become harmed that were even close to Mae, I wanted to slap some sense into this girl. I wanted to whack her over the heard and scream;

Open your eyes! Stop being so stupid! Someone just DIED because of your ignorance.”

Image result for frustrated gif

This book made me angry, and it was mainly down to the main character… I was screaming at her (literately) by the time I finished this book.

What saved this and kept me going were the side-characters, like Annie and Kalden. I loved these two. They were interesting and different and had ACTUAL sense.

Let’s talk about the writing…

There was a very Intellectual tone to this book. There was a vast use of long, thesaurus found words. I have no problem with that! It was just slightly excessive, and I didn’t always think it was needed.

Eggers also liked to ramble on. There were pages of unneeded text that were filled with numbers or just ‘and this happened, and this, and then this, and then this…’ that I felt were put in there because Eggers didn’t know what else to put in and to make the story last longer. There are things put in that do nothing for the story, but make it take longer to read.

Of course, when the story was being told the novel was fast-paced, it was intriguing. I was gripped. But the ramble slowed it down, and dragged the story along.

It definitely proved the truth of what the internet and social media is doing for the world…

I’m sorry.

There was potential.

But I give this book a…

1.5/5

If you want to read it and leave your opinions, I’d love to read them, but that is what I thought. I’m sure it’s a Marmite book… either you love it or hate it, and for me it was the latter. I will most likely give this book away. It annoys me.

Image result for dave eggers quotes

I definitely won’t.

I may read something else by Dave Eggers, but I may not. He has a unique way of writing that does interest me, so maybe I’ll look into his other works. Maybe not. Only time will tell.

The Book on Goodreads.

The Book on Amazon UK.

The Twitter for the upcoming film.

Dave Eggers on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

