The Reader Problems (Tag)

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Start with the ones I’m most excited about or have been waiting to read for a while; or carry on the series I have been reading; or read my most recently bought.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

If it’s a gripping enough story line then I’ll carry on with the book, but if it’s the writing style or the awfulness of the story then I will give up on it. Yet, I’ll probably go back to it in the future.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

I don’t stress myself with it because I know that it won’t be the end of the world if I don’t complete the reading challenge, but I do up my reading game as much as I can to try and catch up. I would read more during the day instead of browsing on the internet or watching trashy TV, but the book has to be good for me to give that much dedication to the story.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I look for the covers that do match on the internet and order those books, but if it’s too expensive then I live with it. Yes, I’m frustrated at first but it’s what inside the covers that count.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I usually go to Tumblr to find people who share my feelings. But if I’m honest, if I don’t like something I don’t go out of my way to just complain about it unless someone encourages me to have a rant. I’m sure there are many people out there who really don’t like things that I like.

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Wait until I get home and cry! Or go and find a toilet to have a little weep.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!

I usually just look for the synopsis on the internet and soon remember the story line after a few hints.

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. Borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

“Sorry, I don’t give out my books just in case they get lost or ruined. Of course I don’t think you’ll damage them, but I just don’t feel comfortable. Books are special to me, you see.”

9. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

Go to the nearest bookshop and find a couple of books that have a really exciting, easy-to-read plot line (Say a contemporary that’s soppy and romantic) and buy them. I read one and then try the books I was struggling with. If I’m still struggling then I pick up another one of the new books and read that. I carry this on until I’m out of my reading slump.

10.There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

All of them if I have the money!

If not then I wait until my next payday to buy them.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

Not long if I’m really excited about them, or other books don’t get bought before I pick them up.

Leave a Reply

