‘Ultraviolet’ by R.J.Anderson

This book is about a girl called Alison who is put into a psychiatric unit after she kills one of the most popular girls in school with her mind! WHAT?!

Here’s the description off of GoodReads:

“Once upon a time there was a girl who was special.
This is not her story.
Unless you count the part where I killed her.

Sixteen-year-old Alison has been sectioned in a mental institute for teens, having murdered the most perfect and popular girl at school. But the case is a mystery: no body has been found, and Alison’s condition is proving difficult to diagnose. Alison herself can’t explain what happened: one minute she was fighting with Tori — the next she disintegrated. Into nothing. But that’s impossible. Right?”

I found this book when I was looking about books to read that are based in a Mental Hospital/Psychiatric Wards as it was around the time I had just finished reading the book ‘It’s Kind of a Funny Story‘ by Ned Vizzini.

The way Mental Health is written in fictional books always fascinates me as it shows a lot about the author’s view on the subject and how it comes across to them. It’s a tricky topic to write about so it always fascinates me to find a book that features any type of Mental Illness.

When I ordered this book I thought it sounded different and something that I had never really read before. I was fascinated to give it a go, not sure whether it would be the typical she gets sectioned-she has a break down-she realised she has potential in the world-she gets better. That sort of book.

I was pleasantly surprised.

RJ Anderson writes with such beauty that it was hard to put the book down, and Alison’s story is so original. There’s something about her that makes her incredibly different from the other patients on the ward. I would tell you all what is it, but that would be giving a main bit away that you don’t really find out about until the middle of the book, so I’m going to keep that secret.

I felt as if I could really understand the way Alison was feeling; the way she interprets things and sees things that other can’t. I really started to believe her, even if the story isn’t really that believable.

The plot line went along very smoothly for me. I thought I could see where the story was going and read the book quite quickly, thinking to myself that I knew how this book was going to end.

Before I read the book, I made sure to only read the blurb and that was it, and I was very glad otherwise I would have probably read a MASSIVE SPOILER for the end.

THAT PLOT TWIST THOUGH!

BE AWARE OF THE PLOT TWIST THAT WILL MESS WITH YOUR HEAD!

It is safer to go into the book not really knowing much or anything at all about the story and what’s going to happen throughout it, otherwise it’ll ruin the surprises throughout the book.

So I won’t really say much except that I really loved it!

It was different. It was exciting. It was gripping. It was deliciously weird and I enjoyed every bit of it.

The only thing I will say is that I wished I got to know a bit more about the other characters on the ward. Yes, Alison is a loner and keeps to herself, but I feel as if the other characters just walked in and out of the story and we didn’t really learn about them which was a shame.

But I guess that does add to the mystery of it all.

So, that’s all I will say on the matter!

Do make sure to check out the link below!!

I’ll see you all in the next one.

Links:

RJ Anderson’s Twitter HERE.

Ultraviolet GoodReads page HERE.

Buy Ultraviolet on Amazon HERE.

For my last book review CLICK HERE!

Leave a Reply

