‘What’s a Girl Gotta Do?’ by Holly Bourne

Image result for what's a girl gotta do holly bourne tumblr

Holly Bourne

This a new book by the one… the only… Holly Bourne!

I had been waiting and waiting for this book to come out, ever since I heard that Lottie was getting her own story.

This book is the third instalment in the Spinster Club Trilogy, following the life of three girls Evie, Amber and Lottie who are all best friends.

Here, this is the description off of GoodReads:

 HOW TO START A FEMINIST REVOLUTION:

1. Call out anything that is unfair on one gender

2. Don’t call out the same thing twice (so you can sleep and breathe)

3. Always try to keep it funny

4. Don’t let anything slide. Even when you start to break…

Lottie’s determined to change the world with her #Vagilante vlog. Shame the trolls have other ideas…

This book follows this girl Lottie as she goes around, calling out every bit of Sexism she sees while her friends broadcast it and upload it onto the media!

I loved this book!

As most of you know, I am a big fan of Holly Bourne and her work. She is a strong feminist and enlightens people about Feminism through this trilogy, following the pros of speaking out about sexism, and what can also go wrong.

In this book, Lottie is a VERY strong individual as she deals with tremendous amounts of hate and praise on her campaign.

This book really does teach you, not only about the sexist world we live in, but also how dangerous and horrible social media can really be when you go on their and speak your views.

Lottie’s story is an inspiration, and has really made me want to do something about all of the sexism that I now see every day.

Usually, I walk around and just see what I once saw was normal, pointing out in my head all of the blatantly obvious sexism that I saw. But now, my mind is open as I see a lot more!

Why, when in a restaurant, do the waiters and waitresses hand the bill to the husband or the boyfriend, assuming that they will be paying? Why does the man always get to try the wine, and not the woman.

Just the other day, at a wedding, did I realise how sexist weddings can be. Why doesn’t the bride or mothers get to say a speech? I don’t think I’ve ever gone to a wedding where the females of the Head Table, besides the maid of honours, get to say a speech!

Simple things like that, that I have never thought twice about, have come to my recognition and have shocked me.

Okay, we were going off topic… let’s go back.

What’s a Girl Gotta Do? is a book that so many of you HAVE to read. It is incredible and so inspiring. Have I said inspiring enough times? Oh well.

Holly Bourne is such a creative and wonderful individual who I really want to meet! One day… One day I hope.

I tweeted her, just like I did about her last book How Hard Can Love Be? and she replied!

IMG_0851.PNG

She seems lovely and such an amazing human being through her work.

Let’s put on our war paint and be strong feminists, and stand up for what is right!

5/5 for this book! I loved it!

Image result for what's a girl gotta do holly bourne quotes

2 thoughts on “‘What’s a Girl Gotta Do?’ by Holly Bourne

Leave a Reply

