‘Illuninae’ by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

 

 

Until last week, I thought that this book was a stand-alone, but it turns out that it is part of a series called the “Illuninae Files”. This is said to be a trilogy. The second book, ‘Gemina’ is set to come out on the 18th of October 2016. Illuminae is the first book.

So, to start as per usual, here is the blurb that is found on GoodReads:

“This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.
This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
The year is 2575, and two rival mega-corporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.
But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.
Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.”

Sound like a soppy love story set in the future? No way! It is so much more than that!

This book includes all sorts of characters, portrayed through numerous amount of unusual files, codes, pictures and texts. The book grasps you into the plot, making you feel like you’re a detective, trying to figure out the multiple (but all linked) stories that are going on.

Yes, this does include a love story, but I love this love story as it doesn’t take the readers away from the plot. The love story gives the book dynamic and drama, that’s not over the top or soppy.

Both of the main characters, Kady and Ezra, are such strong individuals and its hard not to love the way they speak, their humour and how they interact with certain characters. If Kady – for example – had fusion with another character, I would feel that personally. If Exra had hurt for a character, I again, would feel deep loss.

With the character profiles, interviews, messages that you get with the other characters, you feel as if you know them… well, that could all just be me, but I think others have felt this too.

This book has to be one of my favourites that I have EVER read.

The only problem I had with the book would have to be the long words that I had no idea how to pronounce, but truthfully, you find that in every sci-fi or fantasy novel. There’s always that one object or character that you have no idea how to pronounce the name of, until a film or TV Show comes out, or if the author tells you.

It wasn’t a big problem, but it just frustrated me to the point where I personally asked many people “How would you say this word?”

I’m still not sure how to pronounce some words, but that’s all part of the book and the curiousness within it, I think.

Overall, I would dearly recommend this book! It is beautiful (Wow, I don’t say that enough in my posts, do I?!) and wonderfully laid out. The pages in this book are so unique. It’s not just words on a page, it has graphics to it that I’ve never seen in a book that wasn’t a graphic novel. There may be some out there, but to this extent, I’ve never come across any.

I’m so excited for Gemina to be released so I can diverge myself into the story again.

Of course, I’ve read this book a couple of times now and put it on the top of my boyfriend’s TO-READ-FOR-ME list, why wouldn’t I? More people need to read and experience this book. You won’t regret it. I hope not anyway. You might, but let’s not think about that.

Rating: 5/5!

Yes, I went there!

 

Leave a Reply

