The ULTIMATE Book Tag

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

No I don’t, thankfully!

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Stephen Chbosky. If you don’t know who he is, he wrote The Perks of Being a Wallflower which is a book written in letters.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

HARRY POTTER ALL THE WAY!!

  1. Harry Potter was my childhood and I have been a fan since I was only 3.
  2. Harry Potter helped me through the dark times in my life. The world was somewhere I could escape to when things got too hard, which was a lot of the time.
  3. The characters and the plot are so beautiful and magical (no pun intended) and really help bring the story to life. If it was just a book series and there were no films, I would still be a massive fan as it is such an amazing story.

 

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

No I don’t, I just stick whatever book I’m reading into the bag I’m taking out with me. I do buy my bags to fit around my books. I can’t have a bag that doesn’t fit a book!

5. Do you smell your books?

Of course! I love the smell of book! Who doesn’t…. wait, is that weird?… Oh well.

 6. Books with or without little illustrations?

I read books with either, but I would prefer books without the illustrations. With books, I really love having my mind be able to visualise the characters and scenes, making them unique to me. When there is an illustration, I can’t create my own world within the book as what it looks like has already been planned for me.

(Maps I like, they give structure. Doodles like the ones you find it ‘I’ll Give You The Sun‘ by Jandy Nelson I like too as they have nothing to do with the plot, but more to do with the character and who they are)

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? 

I don’t think I’ve had that problem before.

As I do a lot of writing myself and have done since I was eleven, I can be quite picky about my books – if I think the writing isn’t good quality I won’t read it. (It’s rare for me to find a book with bad quality writing, but they’re out there and I will put it the book back and never look back)

Even looking back at the books I read when I was younger, they all have great writing styles for their age group.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

I don’t know if this is funny or not – it may be to some people. I’m not sure.

There was a period of time when I was around ten or eleven when I would read only Harry Potter. I would read nothing else. All other books I couldn’t read or get myself to look at. Harry Potter were the only books for me. I was like this for a year or even more.

 

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I do write, yes. I have a book on amazon kindle called Discover the Blind Side. I am currently trying to get a Literary Agent to help me carry my writing on further so I can eventually hold the book that I have been working on since I was eleven, in my hands.

(If any literary agents are reading this… hi)

12. When did you get into reading?

My mum always read to me when I was a baby, until I was around eight? I started reading – learnt to read – when I was seven, and once I started, I couldn’t stop.

13. What is your favourite classic book?

War of the World by H.G.Wells

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

I think so. It was definitely one of my favourites. That and Art and Drama.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

Say thank you and put it on my shelf. One more to the collection after all.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Harry Potter and the Hunger Games series are both VERY different series. They aren’t at all similar to each other so this is a very diverse and slightly weird question…

I’m going to have to say the Night School series by C.J.Daugherty. It’s based at a boarding school and there is a lot of death – well, not to Game of Thrones standards but there is a bit.

17. What is a bad habit you always do while blogging?

I don’t know. I sometimes forget to schedule a post for my set days so when I’m out, I’m on my phone, writing away so I can get the blog post out for you all. Usually I’m quite good with my schedule, but that’s happened once or twice.

18. What is your favourite word?

I have no idea…

Erm… no I don’t know.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Okay… Definitions:

Dweeb (noun) – a boring, studious, or socially inept person.

 

Dork (noun) – a contemptible, socially inept person 

 

Nerd (noun) –  1. a foolish or contemptible person who lacks social skills or is boringly studious. or 2. a single-minded expert in a particular technical field.

Based off of these google definitions, I don’t think I’m any of them. But I lean more towards Nerd, I guess as I can talk for hours on singular things such as books, musicals, films and video games.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

I don’t mind either, if they are done well.

Saying that though, I would have to say Fairies as there is more you can do with a story on fairies, although fairies usually mean a middle-grade book, whereas Vampires is usual for a YA book.

Either way (Unpopular Opinion), I can’t read a vampire book without thinking about Twilight and those sparkly vampires… Sorry.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shapeshifters! Although again, I don’t mind.

Shapeshifters are awesome and come in all different styles. You can do a romantic shapeshifter book where the character changes into a different person every day, having to explain to their love that they are the same person when physically they are not (Every Day by David Levithan). You can have a fantasy book. You can have a supernatural book. Oh, so many books!

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

I’m not sure on this one.

I would have to say werewolves just as I’ve never really read a book about spirits. If you guys know any good books that include spirits, leave the title and author in the comments and I’ll check it out for sure!

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Zombies! They are awesome and usually that mean Apocalypse books and oh yeah, I love me some apocalypse.

 24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Love triangles are good when they are done well, although you do start routing for that one guy/girl to be with the primary character, meaning that when they are not with that character, you get stressed and upset just reading about them, no matter how happy the primary character seems to be. I guess that’s what gets the drama up and going within the book, but sometimes, the love-triangle becomes such a big deal that the actual plot line is just put to the side, and all that matters is if that person get’s together with that person.

Forbidden love is beautiful to read. It’s dangerous, romantic and daring. I love it! More books on that please!

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

I love reading romantic books, but I also love reading action-packed books.

I would have to say however, that I read more of action-packed books but that does not always mean that there are few love scenes mixed within them. As I’ve said in the question above, it irritates me sometimes when a perfectly good plot line gets intruded with romance. Yes it’s good in some sense and gives a spin on the plot as the character not only has to deal with usually saving the world but also, looking out for the boy/girl that they love.

Call me hypocritical, but it’s something that peeves me if not done the right way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

