‘Vanishing Girls’ by Lauren Oliver

Rating: 4/5

Can I just start by mentioning how beautiful the cover is for this book?! I know you’re not meant to judge a book by it’s cover, but this cover drew me to this book. It was gorgeous! I had to buy it for it my collection – it surely helped that the blurb was also so gripping !

I’ve never read any of Lauren Oliver’s books before until I noticed this one in my local Waterstones. I surely need to read her other books now!

This book is about two sisters – Dara and Nick. They used to do everything together! But after an accident, one late night, they never spoke to each other again, separating themselves from one another.

These two sisters seem perfectly fine not speaking, until Dara’s birthday, when Dara never comes home and goes completely missing.

It may just seem to be a story about a sister trying to find her other, but it’s more complicated than that. A nine year old girl, only a couple of weeks prior, has vanished too.

Nick is convinced that these two missing cases are linked and is determined to uncover the truth, and bring her sister home.

 

This book is incredible! It’s such a twisted, psychological thriller that I couldn’t stop reading from the moment I picked up the book, until the moment I put it down. Even when I was in lesson or sleeping, my mind was pulsing, trying to figure out what will happen next!

The book is divided between Nick and Dara’s point of view, so we are able to hear both of their side of the story.

Usually in a book, I’m not keen on there being different people’s perspective as I just find it confusing and a bit disorientating, but Lauren Oliver does it so well that I really enjoyed the way she portrayed both characters.

When writing a book with two or more people’s point of view, it’s easy to accidentally make the characters speak with similarity, causing the reader to get confused on who’s saying what. I’ve read my fair share of books when the story has been good, but because of the ever changing characters all talking the same, it just got a bit disorientating for my brain to handle.

The story is moving and hurts your heart as you yearn for these sisters. The characters alongside them are warming and supportive. Everything about this book is just so great and I love it. It has to be one of my favourite books of the year so far.

I would definitely recommend this book to psychological thriller lovers, or those who just like twisted realism. It’s a real page-turner.

For older readers though, so I would recommend for 15+.

I was lucky enough to get a tweet from Lauren Oliver too! She’s totally evil…

lauren oliver.png

Rating: 4/5

Thank you Lauren Oliver for this incredible creation! I can’t wait to see what you have next for us!

Lauren Oliver’s Social Medias:

Goodreads Link to Author: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2936493.Lauren_Oliver

Goodreads Link to Book: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22465597-vanishing-girls

Buy the Book on Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Vanishing-Girls-Lauren-Oliver/dp/1444786814/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

Lauren Oliver’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/OliverBooks

One thought on “‘Vanishing Girls’ by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

