Harry Potter Spells Book Tag

So I found this question tag about books and Harry Potter (Two things I love DEARLY) so here it is… The start to my Tag Tuesdays!

  1. Expecto Patronum – a childhood book connected to good memories

‘Little Darlings’ by Jacqueline Wilson.

She was my favourite author as a child (besides JKRowling of course! Our Queen).

I would make sure to buy her new books as soon as they became available! ‘Little Darlings‘ dealt with a situation that seemed so different and exciting, and reminded my child self of ‘Parent Trap’ (One of my childhood favourite films) even though thinking back now, the book had nothing to do with ‘Parent Trap’…

 

2. Expelliarmus – a book that took you by surprise

‘Vanishing Girls’ by Lauren Oliver.

The plot twist in this book was stunningI did not see it coming.

I was on the train home when I was reading the ending and I remember giving a loud squeak before cupping my mouth with my hand. Most of the passengers in the carriage were staring at me. I must have looked mad!

Brilliant book I must add!

3. Prior Incantato – The last book you read

‘Night School: Legacy’ by C.J.Daugherty.

This is book two in the five book ‘Night School’ series. Addicting book series! I will review the series after I’ve finished book five so I won’t say anymore…

4. Alohamora – A book that introduced you to a genre you hadn’t considered before

‘Adventure Time’… I can’t remember which one but an Adventure Time comic book first got me in graphic novels and comic books. I would never go back.

5. Riddikulus – a funny book you’ve read

‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookstores’ by Jen Campbell.

This is a non-fictional book quoting things customers say to book sellers all around the globe from different stores. It’s hilarious! Would recommend for an easy, funny read.

6. Sonorous – a book you think everyone should know about

Harry Potter is an obvious one that everyone should know about!

In my opinion the book ‘Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe’ by Benjamin Alire Sáenz.

It’s an incredible book about self-discovery, growing up and LGBT+, a definite book to look at people!

7. Obliviate – a book or spoiler you would like to forget having read

I do my best to keep away from spoilers and only end up reading them if I go out looking for them myself.

Book wise? If I don’t like the sound of a book or I start reading it in the store and don’t like it, then I don’t buy it and definitely don’t continue reading it.

There are some books that I have borrowed from friends, but if I don’t like them or can’t get involved in them then I just give the book back.

Long story short… I don’t have an answer for this really.

8. Imperio – A book you had to read for school

Most senior/secondary/high school students in the UK will be able to relate to me when I say ‘Of Mice and Men’ by John Steinbeck.

I remember reading it in a day ahead of the whole class so for the lessons when everyone was reading, I was just writing little things in my notepad or reading my own books while everyone else read the book slowly.

9. Crucio – a book that was painful to read

‘Picture Me Gone’ by Meg Rosoff.

This book had so much potential! The synopsis on the back was incredible! I was sold and bought it after only reading the front page and the blurb. Little did I know that this book had NO SPEECH MARKS!! What book has no speech marks?! I was stuck trying to read this book when really it was just painful to read and difficult to know when someone was talking; whether someone was thinking; what was going on because there was no proper punctuation.

I got to chapter 3 and put the book down.

It’s still on my bookshelf ready to be braved through. It has potential, but I may need to go through every page first and add in punctuation before properly reading it.

10. Avada Kedavra – a book that could kill (interpret as you will)

‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallow’ by JKRowling. I’m sure you’re all aware of what I mean by that.

One thought on “Harry Potter Spells Book Tag

Leave a Reply

